BESLS EXECUTIVE BOARD: OFFICER DUTIES

See below for a brief overview of the responsibilities for each e-board position.

Click Here to return to the Executive Board Application form.


  • PRESIDENT:     The President shall preside at all Executive Board meetings and govern over all matters pertaining to the organization.
    • 1)    He or she shall appoint all committees, temporary or permanent.
    • 2)   He or she shall ensure that all books, reports and certificates required by the Student Body Association (SBA) are properly kept or filed.
    • 3)   He or she shall be one of the officers who may sign the checks or drafts of the organization.
    • 4)    He or she shall work with the Vice President and Fashion Chair, Film/TV Chair, Music Chair, and Sports Chair to plan and schedule events throughout the school year.  
    • 5)    He or she shall have the responsibility of selecting the 1L Delegate in the fall semester after soliciting and reviewing applications from General Body members.
    • 6)    He or she shall give and serve all notices to members of the organization.
    • 7)    He or she shall be the official custodian of the records of this organization.
    • 8)    He or she shall have such powers as may be reasonably construed as belonging to the chief executive of any student organization.
  • VICE PRESIDENT:     The Vice President shall aid and support the President in the performance of his or her duties.  
    • 1)    In the event of the absence or inability of the President to exercise his office, become acting president of the organization with all the rights, privileges and powers as if he had been the duly elected president.
    • 2)    The Vice President shall aid and support the President in the performance of his or her duties.  
    • 3)    The Vice President shall aid and support the President in the performance of his or her duties.  
  • SECRETARY:     The Secretary shall keep the minutes and records of the organization in appropriate books.
    • 1)    It shall be his duty to file any certificates required by the SBA.
    • 2)    He or she may be one of the officers required to sign the checks and drafts of the organization.
    • 3)    He or she shall present to the membership at any meetings any communication addressed to him as Administrative Director of the organization.
    • 4)    He or she shall attend to all correspondence of the organization and shall exercise all duties incident to the office of Secretary.
    • 5)    The Secretary shall keep the minutes and records of the organization in appropriate books.
  • TREASURER:     The Treasurer shall have the care and custody of all monies belonging to the organization and shall be solely responsible for such monies or securities of the organization. He or she must be one of the officers who shall sign checks or drafts of the organization.
    • 1)    He or she shall render at stated periods during the semester a written account of the finances of the organization via e-mail and such report shall be e-mailed to the President, Vice President, and Secretary.
    • 2)    He or she shall exercise all duties incident to the office of Treasurer.
  • ALUMNI CHAIR:     The Alumni Chair shall organize and assist in the organization of all BESLS events related to engaging alumni, including but not limited to alumni mixers, socials, student organization fairs, bar reviews, and panels, and in each spring semester, the annual alumni dinner.
  • MEDIA CHAIR:     The Media Chair shall be responsible for the regular and reasonable maintenance of the organization’s outgoing communications.  
    • 1)    He or she, with assistance from the President and Vice President, shall solicit, review, edit and publish submissions of entertainment law related content from General Body members on the BESLS website at least once per month during the academic year.
    • 2)    He or she shall be responsible for posting engaging and appropriately related content about entertainment law and upcoming BESLS events to the BELSLS’ social media accounts.
    • 3)    He or she shall assist with the publicity of the events arranged by the Fashion Chair, Film/Television Chair, Music Chair, and Sports Chair. BESLS events requiring publicity assistance must be communicated in writing to the Media Chair within two (2) weeks of the event date.
  • FASHION CHAIR:    The Fashion Chair shall organize and assist in the organization of all BESLS events related to fashion law. He or she shall strive to arrange at least one fashion law related event during the academic year, typically in the spring semester during or around fashion week.
  • FILM/TV CHAIR:     The Film/Television Chair shall organize and assist in the organization of all BESLS events related to film and television law. He or she shall strive to arrange at least one film and television law related event per semester during the academic year.
  • MUSIC CHAIR:     The Music Chair shall organize and assist in the organization of all BESLS events related to music law. He or she shall strive to arrange at least one music law related event per semester during the academic year.
  • SPORTS CHAIR:     The Sports Chair shall organize and assist in the organization of all BESLS events related to sports law. He or she shall strive to arrange at least one sports law related event during the academic year.

 

2016/17 BESLS Executive Board

PRESIDENTS

Lauren Rayner Davis (2L),  lauren.davis@brooklaw.edu

Vaughn Bobb-Willis (3L),  vaughn.bobb-willis@brooklaw.edu

 

VICE PRESIDENTS

Nicole Camporeale (3L),  nicole.camporeale@brooklaw.edu 

Victoria Pontecorvo (3L),  victoria.pontecorvo@brooklaw.edu 

SECRETARY

Nicole Guitelman (2L),  nicole.guitelman@brooklaw.edu

TREASURER

Frances Lewis (2L),  frances.lewis@brooklaw.edu

ALUMNI CHAIR

Bri’anna Thomas (2L),  briana.thomas@brooklaw.edu

MEDIA CHAIRS

Zachary Dean (3L),  zachary.dean@brooklaw.edu

Kristen Watts (3L),  kristen.watts@brooklaw.edu

FASHION CHAIRS

Jared Goldstein (3L),  jared.goldstein@brooklaw.edu

Dajehne Nisbett (2L),  dajehne.nisbett@brooklaw.edu

FILM & TELEVISION CHAIRS

Aaron Lerman (2L),  aaron.lerman@brooklaw.edu

Jordan Meddy (3L),  jordan.meddy@brooklaw.edu

MUSIC CHAIRS

Matthew Tippy (3L),  matthew.tippy@brooklaw.edu

Courtney Hargrove (3L),  courtney.hargrove@brooklaw.edu

SPORTS CHAIRS

Michael Goldsholl (3L),  michael.goldsholl@brooklaw.edu

Sasha Safavi (2L),  sasha.safavi@brooklaw.edu